## RED LAKE WATERSHED DISTRICT Board of Manager's Minutes January 11, 2001

President Dale M. Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. at the Red Lake Watershed District office at 102 North Main Avenue, Thief River Falls, MN.

Present were: Vernon Johnson; Roger Love; Lowell Smeby; Orville Knott; Dale M. Nelson, LeRoy Ose, Arlene Novak, Accounting/Secretary Technician II; Sandy Radniecki, Secretary/ Receptionist; and Legal Counsel Delray Sparby. Dennis Nikolayson was absent.

The board reviewed the agenda. A motion was made by Moe, seconded by Smeby, that the board approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Arlene Novak read the minutes of December 28, 2000. A motion was made by Moe, seconded by Smeby, that the board approve the minutes as read. Motion carried unanimously.

The board reviewed the Financial Report. A motion was made by Love, seconded by Weiss, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve the Financial Report dated January 11, 2001.

Motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Nikolayson, and passed by unanimous vote that the board authorize Administrator Lanning's signature on any RLWD grant agreements.

The meeting was turned over to Administrator Lanning, who conducted the election of officers. Nominations were open for president. Dale M. Nelson was nominated. Upon calling for nominations three times, and with no further nominations, a motion was made by Nikolayson, seconded by Smeby, that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Dale M. Nelson as president of the RLWD for 2001. Motion carried without dissent.

Nominations were open for vice president. Vernon Johnson was nominated. Upon calling for nominations three times and hearing no further nominations, a motion was made by Nikolayson, seconded by Smeby, that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Vernon Johnson as vice president of the RLWD for 2001. Motion carried without dissent.

Nominations were open for secretary. Ron Weiss and Dennis Nikolayson were nominated. With the vote ending in a tie, it was the consensus of the board to flip a coin. Ron Weiss called "heads". Administrator Lanning tossed the coin, which turned up heads, and the office of secretary for the RLWD for 2001 was awarded to Ron Weiss.

Nominations were open for treasurer. Leonard Moe was nominated. Upon calling for nominations three times, and hearing no further nominations, Manager Smeby made a motion that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Leonard Moe as treasurer of the RLWD for 2001. Manager Nikolayson seconded the motion. Motion carried without dissent.

Board of Manager's Minutes January 12, 2001 Page Two (2)

In the absence of Dale M. Nelson, the meeting was turned over to vice president Vernon Johnson.

The Overall and Area Advisory Committees were reviewed by the board. Manager Smeby recommended a letter be sent to the different area committees and organizations to inform them that, if they so wish, they may appoint a different representative replace the one presently serving on the committee. Upon a vote of the board, a motion was made by Nikolayson, seconded by Moe, that the committees remain the same for the year 2001. Motion carried unanimously.

Nominations were open for voting delegates to MAWD. Roger Love, Ron Weiss, and Dennis Nikolayson were nominated. Upon a vote of the board, a motion was made by Moe, seconded by Smeby that Ron Weiss and Dennis Nikolayson serve as voting delegates to MAWD for 2001. Motion carried without dissent.

Nominations were open for alternates to MAWD. Roger Love, Dale M. Nelson, and Lowell Smeby were nominated. Following a show of hands, a motion was made by Moe, seconded by Nikolayson, that Roger Love and Dale M. Nelson serve as alternate voting delegates to MAWD for 2001. Motion carried with no dissent.

The J.D. 2 committee was reviewed. A motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Nikolayson, that Ron Weiss will serve on the J.D. 2 ditch committee. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Moe, seconded by Smeby, that the board meetings be held the second and fourth Thursdays of each month. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Smeby, seconded by Moe, and passed by unanimous vote that the RLWD designate the following depositories for 2001: Northwest Community Bank of Plummer; Red Lake County State Bank, Red Lake Falls; Northern State Bank, TRF; First National Bank, TRF; Edward D. Jones, TRF; American State Bank, Erskine; American Federal Bank, Crookston; Rural American Bank, East Grand Forks; and Miller Johnson Kuehn of Minneapolis.

Administrator Lanning reported on the board self-assessment that he will be working on in the next couple weeks.

Administrator Lanning reported that the Thief River Storage and Diversion Step II Submittal had been accepted for funding by the FDR work group.

Administrator Lanning reported that he and Loren Sanderson had inspected parts of the Clearwater River for clearing and snagging that needed to be done. He felt it should be broken into several parts in order to complete the work this winter. It was the consensus of the board that the RLWD should obtain written permission from the landowners to pile the brush on the banks of their property, with this agreement to be signed by the RLWD and the landowner.

Board of Manager's Minutes January 12, 2001 Page Three (3)

The letter from Dan Narlock regarding the storage of water near Ditch 20 was reviewed by the board.

Legal Counsel Delray Sparby asked the board what their consideration was regarding informal meetings on the Thief River Storage and Diversion Project. Following discussion, a motion was made by Moe, seconded by Smeby, that the RLWD should hold small community meetings in Goodridge, Grygla, and Thief River Falls. Following further discussion, Manager Smeby withdrew his second. Motion died as a result. It was the consensus of the board that Administrator Lanning should schedule small meetings with groups of landowners along the project area. Legal Counsel Sparby recommended having two board members present at each meeting, alternating so all managers would attend at least one meeting.

Legal Counsel Sparby stated he received a letter from Kurt Deter and they will be scheduling a conference to discuss the State Ditch 83 Appeal with opposing counsel.

Loren Sanderson informed the board that he and Administrator Lanning met with MnDOT regarding a permit from Doug Peterson. He stated that Mr. Peterson will be asked to meet at the RLWD office and explain the permit in detail.

The board reviewed permit No. 00122 from Harlan Bratlien, Marshall County. A motion was made by Moe, seconded by Love, and passed by unanimous vote that the board approve permit No. 00122 with conditions stated on permit.

The upcoming meetings were reviewed by the board.

A motion was made by Moe, seconded by Nikolayson, and passed by unanimous vote that the meeting adjourn.

Signed

Ron Weiss, Secretary